Last night, the winners of the inaugural Irish Women’s Awards Ireland were unveiled at a gala ceremony in the Crowne Plaza Dublin.

The awards ceremony welcomed over 200 guests and served to showcase the contribution of women to various industries and professions such as Law, Medicine, Technology, Arts, Sport, Education and many more. The awards also provided a platform to thank and recognise meritorious ladies for their attributions to our society as well as for the exceptional work they carry out daily that often remain un-known or even un-appreciated.

A Spokesperson for the Irish Women’s Awards 2019 said: “We are delighted to have acknowledged successful women from across Ireland who have managed to stand out among the rest in their profession. The awards showcased examples of courage, passion, skill, commitment and success that feature in women and we would like to congratulate all finalists and winners for their impeccable achievements. We are very happy to see the huge engagement of the Irish public who have gone behind our nomination process wholeheartedly to vote for their favourite female personalities that have worked tirelessly to achieve their goals’’.

Pharmapod is the leading cloud-based software for driving efficiencies and standards and reducing patient safety incidents in community pharmacies, care homes and hospitals. It enables pharmacists to record, review and analyse patient safety incidents quickly and securely.

It is the only system that closes the loop between incidents that have occurred and updating of the pharmacy’s quality documentation, delivering significant efficiencies to the process of reviewing and updating SOPs.

Pharmapod was chosen from 10 category finalists including well known businesses run by two Dragon’s Den entrepreneurs Ramona Nicholas (Cara Pharmacy Group) and Alison Cowzer (East Coast Bakehouse).

Of the announcement, CEO Leonora O’Brien said ‘What a wonderful start to 2019! This award is for all Pharmapod customers who are on this exciting journey with us, striving to learn and be better every day. We are so grateful to the people who nominated us and for the public who voted for us – thank you for believing in us.”

200 inspirational leaders gathered at the event in Dublin last night as award winners were announced across 31 categories.

The award winners for each of the categories on the night were as follows:

Business of the Year: Leonora O’Brien (Pharmapod, Dublin)

Creative Industries Leader of the Year: Kim Mackenzie-Doyle (Why Design, Carlow)

Services to Charity / Third Sector: Karen Leigh (Sensational Kids, Kildare)

Rising Star of the Year: Sinead Cassidy (Galway Races, Galway)

Services to Science & Technology: Lorraine Brennan (UCD Institute of Food and Health, Dublin)

Services to Medicine: Sinead Brennan (St Luke’s Hospital, Dublin)

Services to Sport: Cathriona MccConnell (GAA, Donaghmoyne)

Services to Law: Tara Doyle (Matheson, Dublin)

Services to Education: Maura McAdam (DCU Business School, Glasnevin)

Services to Accounting & Finance: Jennifer Kelly (EisnerAmper Ireland, Dublin)

Social Leader of the Year: Liz Waters (An Cosán VCC, Dublin)

Beauty Entrepreneur of the Year: Celia O’Grady (Nia Natural Beauty, Kilrush)

Contribution to Arts & Culture: Katie Watchorn (Wexford Arts Centre, Wexford)

Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Katie McGloin (K.T. Clothing Co., Bundoran)

Food Entrepreneur of the Year: Sarah Kiely (Sadie’s Kitchen, Dublin)

Corporate Leader of the Year: Ruth Curran (Merc Partners & IIC Partners, Dublin)

Contribution to Civil Service: Anne Gibney (NWCI – Chartered Institute of Securities, Dublin )

Managing Director of the Year: Pamela Quinn (Kuehne & Nagel)

Digital Business of the Year: Jane Kavanagh (FeedAlpha, Tullow)

Independent Retail Business of the Year: Wicklow Street Clinic (Rasa Levinaite, Dublin)

Family Run Business of the Year: Caroline Kilkenny  (N&C Kilkenny, Dublin)

Small Business of the Year: Kay’s Flower School (Dublin)

Business of the Year (less than 50 staff): Mary Mitchell  (Green Angel, Dublin)

Business Woman of the Year: Rita Shah (Shabra Plastics/Recycling Ltd, Castleblaney)

Business Woman of the Year (less than 50 staff): Alison Banton (Brooke & Shoals, Greystones)

Best Professional in Business: Altona Myers (Seapoint Clinic, Dublin)

Entrepreneur of the Year: Wendy Stunt (Go Digicard, Dublin)

CEO of the Year: Tammy Darcy (The Shona Project, Waterford)

Women of Influence: Sarah Keane (OCI, Dublin)

Women Support Group of the Year: Anew (Fiona Barry, Dublin)

Woman of the Year: Su Carty (World Rugby Council, Dublin)